Janet Becomes First Predictor to Complete League & Cup Double

Janet Jones and Sheffield Wednesday have lifted The Predictorship Cup with a 1-0 win against Cathryn Harker’s Clapton F.C.

Janet makes history as the first predictor to win the League and Cup double following her League triumph in 2003-04.

In stark contrast to the endless tedium served up at the new Wembley, the Predictorship Cup final was full of glitz and glamour and mesmerising football, with Wednesday grabbing the all-important winner after 90 minutes thanks to Janet’s 1-1 prediction. Cathryn banked on a 1-0 win for Manchester United, but her Cup dream died when Ryan Giggs failed to convert Wayne Rooney’s inch-perfect cross (even though the ball DID cross the line – with Petr Cech attached).

A Chelsea win at 90 minutes was the only factor that would have brought the “tie-breaker” (predictions for the time of the first goal) into play. For the record, Janet (23 minutes) and Cathryn (73 minutes) were both way off anticipating Didier Drogba’s 116th-minute clincher.

Janet Jones’ name will appear alongside John Collins – who led Millwall to glory in last season’s inaugural competition – on a shiny piece of silverware which will be rushed into production for the eagerly-anticipated Predictorship awards ceremony, the most prestigious event in the Predictorship calendar.

“I’m not sure how that happened!,” said a stunned Janet from her soon-to-be trophy-laden home in Church Langley, Harlow. “I was lucky to avoid all the ‘big girls and boys’ on route to the final and even managed to beat David (Roberts, husband-to-be) on the way. I was a bit worried about playing Cathryn in the final but my luck held out.”

Congratulations Janet! Enjoy your reign as Predictorship Cup champion.

The Predictorship – Roll of Honour 2000-2007 …

The Predictorship – Winners (2000-07)

1999-2000 – Stewart Newport (Queens Park Rangers)
2000-01 – Gabe Bevilacqua (Philadelphia Eagles)
2001-02 – David Roberts (Watford)
2002-03 – Steven Dunlop (Sporting Charleroi)
2003-04 – Janet Jones (Sheffield Wednesday)
2004-05 – Steven Dunlop (Sporting Charleroi)
2005-06 – Mike Dufficy (Jersey United)
2006-07 – Christine Butters (Manchester City)

The Predictorship Cup – Winners (2006-07)

2005-06 – John Collins (Millwall)
2006-07 – Janet Jones (Sheffield Wednesday)

Still to Come …

Vote for your ‘Prediction of the Season’. There are 10 beauties to choose from …

Quote of the Week …

Anonymous BBC match commentator: “That’s asking too much of Robben”. Mark Lawrenson (in reply, and NOT acknowledged): “That’s asking too much of Batman, let alone Robben” …